Maybe you have had a DWI or two in the past and perhaps feel like you have a basic understanding of how a DWI will affect your everyday life. However, despite trying to be as careful as possible you may find yourself arrested for DWI in Texas a third time. What happens now? After all, the consequences for a third DWI are much more severe than those for a first offense.
Texas DWI law
Texas takes a strict stance against DWI. If it is your first offense, you could face a $2,000 fine, 180 days in jail and the loss of your driver’s license for up to 12 months. If it is your second offense, you could face a $4,000 fine, one month to 12 months in jail and the loss of your driver’s license for two years. Finally, if it is your third offense, you could face a $10,000 fine, two to 10 years in prison and the loss of your driver’s license for two years. As you can see, the stakes for a third DWI are much greater than those for a first DWI although any DWI should be taken seriously if you are to mount a strong defense in your favor.
DWI and BAC
Most people already know that if your blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 or more, you can be arrested for DWI. In Texas, though, you can be arrested for DWI with a lower BAC as long as the police determine the alcohol has affected your driving to the point that it is no longer safe for you to be behind the wheel of a car. This determination may be based on police observations of your driving and demeanor after being pulled over and on the results of field sobriety tests.
Defend against DWI charges
As this shows, a third DWI offense can significantly impact your future. You may face steep fines, your job could be in jeopardy and your relationships and reputation may be in tatters. Fortunately, if you are accused of crimes such as DWI, you can develop a solid defense strategy to counter the DWI and possibly have the charges against you dismissed.