If you are driving after drinking alcohol it is possible you could be pulled over on suspicion of driving while intoxicated (DWI). This is a serious situation in Texas, especially if you already have a couple DWIs under your belt.
Penalties for a third DWI
The consequences for a third DWI in Texas are significantly more severe than a first or even second DWI. If it is your first DWI, you could face a $2,000 fine, up to 180 days in jail and you could lose your driver’s license for 12 months.
These consequences are amplified when it is your third DWI. If it is your third DWI you could face a $10,000 fine, between two to 10 years in prison and you could lose your driver’s license for two years. These penalties could cost you your job and your freedom.
Defenses for DWI
If you are facing your third DWI it is not your first rodeo. Still, you want to ensure you develop a solid defense strategy, as the stakes are so high.
For example, you could challenge the results of a breath test by proving that the test was improperly performed, or the breath test instrument was not properly calibrated or maintained.
Also, you could call into question the officer’s observations regarding your supposed impairment. You could argue that field sobriety tests were improperly interpreted, or observations of your driving abilities did not lead to a conclusion of intoxication. You may have a valid reason for your behaviors or appearance that led to the DWI arrest.
These are only some examples of defense arguments that you will want to look into if you are charged with DWI. A DWI conviction can affect your life for years to come, so you will want to make sure you employ every defense strategy possible to prove your innocence.